Southfield Close, Driffield, East Yorkshire, YO25 5YN



Driffield Northfield Infant School



School governors are volunteers who help to run the school. Most schools work with a group of school governors - together they’re called the 'governing body'. They are involved in decisions about all aspects of managing the school – such as running buildings and budgets, supporting staff and setting standards of school discipline.

Governors also help to make big decisions about the school’s long-term goals. They support headteachers, but also ask questions and make sure the headteacher is taking the school in the right direction.

The Department for Education (DfE) sets out the roles and responsibilities of the Governing Body and the purpose of governance is to:

".. provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance." (DFE - Governance handbook 2017)

It outlines the three core functions of the governing board as:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent 
Insert file list here
The Driffield Northfield Infant School Governing Body works closely with the whole staff team to drive forward the school vision and aims, ensuring the school is managed and lead well, providing the best possible education and experience for all pupils and families. 
Insert file list here
Further information about each governor can be seen below and the Chair of Governors can be contacted through the school office.


Type of Governor                               End of Term

Staff Voting Head                      

Mrs Samantha Woolhouse     

Local Authority Governor           

Mr Mark Kelly                                       31/12/2017


Mrs Ruth Marley  - Vice Chair             31/12/2017

Cllr Symon Fraser                                 31/12/2017

Mrs Jill Palmer                                       31/12/2017

Mrs Joanne Hetherington                    12/10/2019

Mrs Gaye Eling                                      11/10/2019

Mrs Jo Smith-Fox                                   09/02/2019     


Mr Christopher Butcher

 -   Chair of Governors                          02/03/2018

Mrs Sally Chapman                               31/12/2017

Mrs Claire Taylor                                   30/09/2020

Mr Gordon Barber-Bee                         Resigned


Miss Georgia Talbot                               31/08/2020


Mr Butcher has a relative among the school staff.

Governor Pecuniary Interests: Eling Landscapes, Nafferton Millennium

Insert file list here